Friday, January 27, 2012

Rural Deaneries

A "deanery" is defined as the office, jurisdiction, or official residence of a clerical dean. The dean is one who is the head, or who supervises one district of a diocese. This post list the names "...from parishes in the rural deaneries..." surrounding Sweeney Hall, Shropshire. This was recorded by the Leighton family as part of the returns of the "Clergy Defence Association" relating to "tithe-rent charges". Many of these parishes are connected to one another by my own JONES family. Understanding this connection helped me overcome several "brick walls" when I realized that many of the names [parishes and towns] were organizationally related. This helped explain why many of my JONES family seemed associated with these parishes. Initially, one would look as these geographic locations and wonder if there would be any connections between them!

Rural deaneries listed: 1) Oswestry, 2), Bangor-is-Coed, 3) Hay, 4) Llanrwst, 5) Llangollen, 6) St. Asaph, 7) Dyffryn Clwyd, 8) Holywell, 9) Denbigh, 10) Rhos, 11) Caedwen, 12) Caereinion, 13) Penllyn, 14) Edeirnion, 15) Wrexham, 16) Pool, 17) Mold, and 18) Llanfyllin.

List is taken from Shropshire Archives, Leighton (Sweeney), Catalogue Ref. 177, ref. 1060/319-488, undated. [file just before this is dated 1886]

No comments:

Post a Comment